A change in Heart if you will…

Well, this may come as a shocker to some, but I have changed my mind about getting my GED. Yes I plan on finishing school and now the bigger question is college. I feel like explaining my self for this change. But before I do, please dont make fun of this, because I really do feel called by God to do this.

Matthew 19:21 – Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

Matthew 19:29-30 – And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.

Matthew 25: 35-40 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of thesebrothers of mine, you did for me.’

 For the last 4 days I have slept out side in parks and in the woods trying to cut myself off from the material world that I have become so in love with. So many of the things in my life have taken the place of God, and I am making an attempt to correct that. Does this seem a bit drastic? I dont think it is. Christ gave his life for me… so I should be willing to give up comforts at the least? But that is just the story that set my goal in life into motion. While I have been praying about a calling in life, God has used this time to show me.

I was walking to a friends house to spend the night and on the way I passed a homeless guy. I gave him 3 bucks and he went to McDonalds and got some food, then I went about my way. The entire time I was walking, I couldnt get that man out of my head. That night I thought about all the homeless people I have seen from trips with my school and my church to Down Town Houston. And even when I was asleep I couldnt get this image of all these homeless people… hungry, naked, sick, cold, and lost, out of my brain. I prayed and thought about it all the next day, and the day after that… and today I am writting this because I do believe God has called me to the mission fields… but not the mission fields that most people think of.

When you meet a missionary to China, he will tell you about how the family had to addapt to the culture of that area in order to fit in with society. Well I feel that I have been called to leave everything I own, all the perks of a comfortable life, and devote my life to helping the homeless. I feel that God has called me to help “the least of these.”

With that said, I am looking for a good but cheap Bible college. I want to spend a minimum of 2 years in college and then I want to hit the streets. I have not finished praying about this yet, but it is heavy on my heart. And I would like to ask for your prayers and sapport in this decision.

2 responses to “A change in Heart if you will…

  1. Radical Christianity? Or perhaps what we all should be? I agree that the Body of Christ should focus more on the “least of these,” especially in our own neighborhoods. I may not be an expert on your life or on the voice of God speaking to you, but it sounds like a good plan and one that would glorify Him. And I think that if there’s anyone that God would call to do this, it would be you, because you’d be gutsy enough to obey Him and make a difference. I’ll definitely be praying for you. And I definitely support the idea of graduating instead of getting a GED.

  2. Wow Jon. I’m proud of you buddy on several different levels. I’ll urge you to keep praying about it, and I’ll do the same. Many mission fields are neglected, but I think that a lot of people have forgotten about the poor, the helpless, and the needy mission field. Just a suggestion…you may want to pick Mr. Hawkin’s brain a little. He doesn’t do the same thing that you’re talking about, but you may get some more insight from him.

    You probably already know, but he has a similar story in that he left his job, and stability to do his specific ministry.

Leave a Reply

